

MINUTES
Growth Management Policy Board
April 4, 2024
Remote Meeting

[To watch a video of the meeting and hear the discussion, go to https://www.psrc.org/watch-meetings]

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 10:01 a.m. by Councilmember Megan Dunn, Vice Chair.

COMMUNICATIONS AND PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no public comment.

CHAIR'S REPORT

Vice Chair Dunn welcomed new board members, thanked outgoing members for their participation on the board, and noted that Brian Holtzclaw with Master Builders Association of King and Snohomish Counties and Alex Brennan with Futurewise have been appointed to the board for three-year terms by Chair Prince.

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Growth Management Director Paul Inghram provided additional information on the access to childcare facilities agenda item from March and provided an introduction of the guests presenting at April's meeting. Board members asked about the application process for PSRC's Summer Planning Academy, which is accepting applications until May 15.

CONSENT AGENDA

a. Approve Minutes of Growth Management Policy Board Meeting held March 7, 2024.

<u>ACTION</u>: It was moved and seconded (Bader/Buxton) to adopt the Consent Agenda. Motion passed.

CLIMATE POLLUTION REDUCTION GRANT PROGRAM

Director of Transportation Planning Kelly McGourty briefed board members on the region's work under the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Climate Pollution Reduction Grant (CPRG) program. The CPRG program provides funds to states and large urban areas to develop near- and long-term climate action plans. The Priority Climate Action Plan was submitted to the EPA on March 1, 2024, and the Comprehensive Climate Action Plan is due in the summer of 2025. A work program is soon to be developed. In addition, the program is providing \$4.6 billion in competitive grants for climate implementation activities. Kelly briefed the board on the applications being submitted by the region and state. The board asked for information about work cities are conducting related to the grant.

COMMUNITY SOLAR PROGRAM

Kate Hartgering from Puget Sound Energy (PSE) provided the board with information about the utility's Community Solar Program. Community Solar is a way for PSE electric customers to share the benefits of 100% local solar power. Solar panels have been installed on the rooftops of schools and other municipalities, and they are always looking for new site hosts. Benefits of being a site host include support of community sustainability goals for carbon reduction and generating solar energy at no cost. One can contact PSE to submit sites for Community Solar, distributed solar or battery all storage projects.

LOCAL CLIMATE PLANS

Tiffany Speir from the City of Lakewood and David Pyle and Rose Weiker from the City of Sammamish briefed the board on how the cities of Lakewood and Sammamish have addressed climate change impacts in their local work and how climate is addressed in their comprehensive plans. Staff from the Department of Commerce shared results of a survey of small and mid-size cities about their approaches to climate planning and briefed the board on their updated climate element guidance which provides cities and counties with planning grants, technical assistance and other resources.

NEXT MEETING

The next GMPB board meeting is scheduled for May 2, 2024. Topics include:

- Addressing Racially Disparate Impacts
- Industrial Lands Analysis Report
- PSRC's Equity Tracker
- 2026 Regional Transportation Plan

ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 11:48 a.m.

GUESTS AND PSRC STAFF PRESENT (As determined by staff.)

Kathryn Johnson, PSRC
Piset Khuon, PSRC
Paul Inghram, PSRC
Kelly McGourty, PSRC
Liz Underwood-Bultmann, PSRC
Maggie Moore, PSRC
Erika Harris, PSRC
David Dixon, PSRC
Josh Brown, PSRC
Ben Bakkenta, PSRC
Noal Leonetti, PSRC
Ivan Miller, King County

Attachments:

April 4, 2024, GMPB Attendance Roster

GMPB April 4, 2024 Attendance Roster

Growth Managemen	t Po	licy Board - April 4, 2024					
Voting Members	T	, ,	1	Non-voting Members			1
King County	2	CM Sarah Perry		Associate Members			
9 ===,	Ē	Vacant		Alderwood Water and	1	COM Paul McIntyre	1
				Wastewater District		John McClellan	
Seattle	2	CM Tammy Morales	1	Thurston Regional Planning	1	COM Chris Stearns	1
		CM Maritza Rivera	1	Council		Marc Daily Alt	
		CM Tanya Woo, Alt	1	Public Agency Members		,	
Bellevue	1	CM Janice Zahn	1	Commerce	1	Dave Andersen	
		CM Dave Hamilton, Alt				Mark Barkley Alt	
Cities/Towns	3	MYR Traci Buxton, Des Moines	1	Public Health Agencies	1	Dr. Gib Morrow, Kitsap Public Health District	1
		CM Ed Prince, Renton - Chair		1		Vacant	
		CM Melissa Stuart, Redmond	1	PSRC Committees			
		MYR Kelli Curtis, Alt - Kirkland	1	Regional Staff Committee	1	Andrea Spencer	
		CM Pam Stuart, Alt - Sammamish	1	† Š	Ė	Arun Sambataro. Alt	1
		CP Lindsey Walsh, Alt - Issaquah	1	Equity Advisory Committee	1	Shannon Turner	1
Kitsap County	1	COM Katie Walters	1		Ė	Lisa Espinosa, Alt	
		COM Christine Rolfes, Alt	Ė	Private/Civic Members-Business/Labor			
Bremerton	1	MYR Greg Wheeler	1	Master Builders of King and		Jennifer Anderson	
		CP Jennifer Chamberlin, Alt		Snohomish Counties		Brian Holtzclaw	1
Cities/Towns	1	DM Jon Quitslund, Bainbridge Isl		Natural and Built	1	Angela Rozmyn	1
		CM Ashley Mathews, Alt - Bainbridge Isl	1	Environments (exp.		Robert Pantley Alt	
Pierce County	1	CM Robyn Denson	1	Vacant	1	Vacant	
		CM Paul Herrera. Alt				Vacant Alt	
Tacoma	1	CM Joe Bushnell	1	Private/Civic Members-Community/Environment			
		CM Sarah Rumbaugh, Alt		Futurewise		Alex Brennan	
Cities & Towns	1	CM Nikki Bufford, Fircrest	1			Tiernan Martin Alt	
		MYR Josh Penner, Alt - Orting		Housing Development	1	Patience Malaba	
Snohomish County	1	CM Megan Dunn - Vice Chair	1	Consortium - Seattle/King		Jesse Simpson Alt	
		CM Sam Low, Alt		Vacant	1	Vacant	
Everett	1	CM Scott Bader	1			Vacant Alt	
		MYR Cassie Franklin, Alt	1				
Cities/Towns	1	CM Mike Dixon, Mukilteo	1	†			
	Ė	MYR Pro Tem Bryan Wahl, Alt - Mntlake Terr.		Non Voting	12		7
		With the roll Bryan Wall, 7th Williams Foll.		, , ,	<u> </u>		
Federally Recognize	d Tr	ihes	1				
Muckleshoot Indian	1	Vacant					
Tribe	Ė	- Vacan					
Puyallup Tribe of	1	Andrew Strobel					
Indians	Ė	Jennifer Keating Alt					
Suquamish Tribe	1	Rob Purser					
		Alison O'Sullivan Alt					
Statutory Members			l				
Ports	1	COM Don Meyer, Tacoma	1				
		COM Deanna Keller, Alt - Tacoma				Abbreviations	
WSDOT	1	Jeff Storrar				CM Councilmember	
		JoAnn Schueler, Alt	1			COM Commissioner	
		,				CP Council President	
Voting	22	(Quorum = 11) Quorum Total	17			DM Deputy Mayor	İ