

# **Transportation Operators Committee Meeting Summary**

Date: January 24, 2024

Location: Online Meeting Only: Zoom Remote Meeting

#### Welcome and Introductions

Peter Heffernan, Chair, welcomed everyone at 10:00 a.m. Peter took roll call and confirmed the members and alternates present.

## **Approval of Meeting Summary**

The summary for the November 29, 2023, meeting was approved.

## **Transportation Policy Board Debrief**

Gil Cerise, PSRC, provided a brief overview of the November Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting and shared the location of the Transportation work program tracker that TOC members requested be highlighted. As part of the TPB debrief, Gil shared information on mapping that PSRC staff has been doing for Transit-oriented development (TOD) legislation that is proposed in the current legislative session.

## **Action: FTA Fund Redistribution Requests**

Sarah Gutschow, PSRC, provided an overview of requested redistributions of funds between projects, as detailed in the <u>agenda packet</u>. The redistribution requests for projects from the Seattle-Tacoma Everett (STE) Urbanized Area (UZA) were previously recommended by the Regional FTA Caucus.

- King County Metro requested five redistributions of funds between projects in the STE UZA.
- Sound Transit requested one redistribution of funds between projects in the STE UZA.
- Community Transit requested one redistribution of funds between projects in the Marysville UZA.

The committee then voted unanimously to approve the redistribution requests for recommendation by the Transportation Policy Board at their next meeting.

For more information, contact Sarah Gutschow at <a href="mailto:squtschow@psrc.org">squtschow@psrc.org</a>

### **Discussion: 2024 Project Selection**

Sarah provided a brief overview of the upcoming 2024 Project Selection process for 2027-2028 FTA Earned Share and Equity Formula funds, including some approaching key milestones.

For more information, contact Sarah Gutschow at <a href="mailto:squtschow@psrc.org">squtschow@psrc.org</a>

### **Discussion: Next Steps Connecting People to Transit**

Jean Kim, PSRC, shared that the ad hoc Transit Access Working Group just completed its fourth meeting on Monday, January 22. The Working Group agreed to a set of four recommendations for additional work on the regional transit access topic. PSRC staff will do follow-up with working group members who were unable to attend the meeting and will finalize recommendations based on that follow-up. The TOC will review a final report with recommendations at the March 27 meeting, where PSRC staff will engage the committee on how to amend the existing PSRC Transit Access work program to account for the working group recommendations.

For more information, contact Jean Kim at <a href="mailto:ikim@psrc.org">ikim@psrc.org</a>

### **Discussion: 2024 TOC Agenda Topics**

Gil Cerise, PSRC, shared a draft 2024 TOC agenda topics calendar with the members and took input on topics in the context of PSRC's 2024 work plan focusing on project selection and initial stages of the RTP 2026-2050.

For more information, contact Gil Cerise at gcerise @psrc.org

#### **Discussion: Transit Agency Roundtable**

During the Roundtable, the committee received updates and announcements from the following attendees:

- Sophie Luthin, Community Transit
- Andrew Arnes, Pierce Transit
- Alex Krieg, Sound Transit
- Jillian Nordstrom, WSDOT
- Cordy Crockett, WSDOT
- Peter Heffernan, King County Metro

#### Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 12:00 p.m.

#### \*Members and Alternates Present

See attached attendance roster.

# \*PSRC Staff, Alternates and Guests Present

Jillian Nordstrom, WSDOT

# **PSRC**

Gil Cerise, Erin Hogan, Sarah Gutschow, Nick Johnson, Alexa Leach, Jean Kim, Carol Naito

\*Attendees were present via remote participation

# **TOC Attendance Roster**

(Members and Alternates represented)

Date: January 24, 2024 10:00am - 12:00pm

**Online/Remote Meeting Only** 

Agency/Jurisdiction		Name
Transit Agencies		
Community Transit (1)	х	Sophie Luthin
		Kathryn Rasmussen (Alt.)
Everett Transit (1)	х	Melinda Adams
		Michael Schmieder (Alt.)
King County Metro (1)	х	Peter Heffernan, Chair
		Erik Rundell (Alt.)
Kitsap Transit (1)	х	Steffani Lilllie
		Edward Coviello (Alt.)
Pierce County Ferries (1)		VACANT
		Nick Lacsina (Alt.)
Pierce Transit (1)	х	Andrew Arnes
		Tina Lee (Alt.)
City of Seattle (1)		Jen Malley-Crawford
	х	Benjamin Smith (Alt.)
Sound Transit (1)	х	Alex Krieg
		Lisa Wolterink (Alt.)
State		
WSDOT - Washington State Ferries (1)		Jason Rogers
		John Bernhard (Alt.)
WSDOT (1)	х	Cordy Crockett
		Jill Nordstrom (Alt.)
Non-Voting Participants		
Regional FTA Caucus (1)	х	Steffani Lillie , Chair (Kitsap Transit)
		Clint Ritter, Vice Chair (Pierce County Ferries) (Alt.)
Intercity Transit (1)		Peter Stackpole
		Jessica Gould (Alt.)
Special Needs Transportation Committee (SNTC) (1)		Susan Carter, Chair (Hopelink)
		VACANT