

Regional Project Evaluation Committee Meeting Summary

Date: January 26, 2024, from 9:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.

Location: Remote – Online Meeting Only (Zoom Connection)

Introductions and Announcements

Doug McCormick, Chair, welcomed everyone at 9:30 a.m. He then took a roll call to confirm the members and alternates present.

Approval of Meeting Summary

The December 1, 2023, RPEC meeting summary was approved as presented.

Transportation Policy Board Debrief

Kelly McGourty, PSRC, reviewed the Transportation Policy Board meetings held on December 14, 2023, and January 11, 2024. The 'At Work' report for the Transportation Policy Board meeting is available on the PSRC website at: https://www.psrc.org/board/transportation-policy-board.

Discussion: Project Tracking and Delivery Policy Updates

Jennifer Barnes, PSRC, gave an update on extension requests and 2024 TIP rebalancing efforts. She reminded the committee that the solicitation for extension requests has gone out, and the request deadline is February 15, and may consist of either a 45-day or 1-year request. Requests will be reviewed by PSRC staff and the RPEC/Countywide chairs, who make the determination for 45-day requests and make recommendations to the board for 1-year requests, which require board action. She also walked through the five-step TIP rebalancing process, which reflect the January 25 Executive Board action of switching increased federal shares (now step 3) and funding ready-to-go projects off the current contingency lists (now step 4). PSRC is working to confirm advancements, exchanges, and if needed, increased federal shares in time to include in the March TIP amendment, so that sponsors will be in position to submit obligation paperwork by June 1.

For more information, contact Jennifer Barnes at jbarnes@psrc.org.

The presentation can be found on the PSRC website here.

Discussion: 2024 Project Selection Process

Kelly McGourty, PSRC, gave an update on the 2024 project selection process, including updates to the policy framework that were adopted by the Executive Board at their January 25 meeting. All updates are reflected in the 2024 Policy Framework for PSRC's Federal Funds and include updates to the equity and safety criteria and increase in their scoring weights. The board also adopted the four RPEC recommendations to the Project Tracking Policies, two related to project selection and two related to the annual TIP rebalancing process. Topics discussed for which the board did not adopt changes were restriction of general-purpose capacity projects from PSRC's project selection process, or establishment of minimum scoring thresholds for project awards; however, PSRC staff has been directed to continue to evaluate these topics to bring back for later discussion. Jennifer Barnes, PSRC, also walked through the updated timeline and process for screening forms submitted for projects planned to be entered in any of the countywide processes; screening forms are due March 11 for all forums, and will be reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis by PSRC staff, with comments returned to the sponsor as soon as they are ready.

For more information, contact Kelly McGourty at kmcgourty@psrc.org

The presentation can be found on the PSRC website here.

Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at approximately 11:00 a.m.

*Members and Alternates Present

See attached attendance roster.

*PSRC Staff, Alternates and Guests Present

Brian Parry, SCA; Brianne Ross; Catherine Lander, City of Shoreline; Daniel Marcinko, City of North Bend; Darius Thompson, City of Tacoma; David Paine, City of Kent; Emilie Pilchowsk, KRCC; Ingrid Gaub, City of Auburn; Kai Pope, Atwell; Kenneth Wilson, Sound Transit; Maddy Borowski; Mia Waters, City of Bellevue; Monica Overby, Sound Transit; Ryan Medlen, Port of Tacoma; Ted Vanegas, Commerce; Wendi Gephart, Wendi Gephart; Wesley Rhodes, City of Tacoma

PSRC

Jennifer Barnes, Alexa Leach, Kelly McGourty, Kalon Thomas, Josh Brown, Miles Stepleton, Doug Cox, Gary Simonson, Gil Cerise

*All attendees were present via remote participation

RPEC Attendance Roster - Designated Members

Date: January 26, 2024 - 9:30-11:30am Remote/Online Only

NOTE: Members are invited to sit at the table and vote. Alternates may sit at the table and vote when the member is absent. Please coordinate representation in advance of the meeting. All other Alternates and Guests are invited to attend and sit in the gallery. This roster is for attendance purposes only and should be marked by all members and alternates present at the table, regardless of voting status.

Jurisdiction	√	Name	Jurisdiction	→	Name
King County (3)	_	Mary Bourguignon	WSDOT-NW Region (1)	1	Cameron Kukes
		Peter Heffernan			Mehrdad Moini (Alt.)
	—	John Vander Sluis	WSDOT-Oly Region (1)	X	JoAnn Schueler
		Ruth Harvey (Alt.)			John Ho (Alt.)
	X	Sarah Green (Alt.)	WSDOT-MoM (1)		Matthew Kenna
		Ivan Miller (Alt.)			April Delchamps (Alt.)
Seattle (3)	X	Sarah Strand	WSDOT-WS Ferries (1)		John Bernhard
		Jim Storment		X	Krishan Aggarwal (Alt.)
		Joanna Valencia			Todd Lamphere (Alt.)
		Bill LaBorde (Alt.)	Kitsap Transit (1)	X	Steffani Lillie
		Serena Lehman (Alt.)			Edward Coviello (Alt.)
		Benjamin Smith (Alt.)			Lindsay Cook (Alt.)
Bellevue (1) Other Cities/Towns (5)	X	Eric Miller	Pierce Transit (1)	X	Tina Lee
		Mia Waters (Alt.)			Wendi Gephart (Alt.)
	X	Chad Bieren, Kent	7		Darin Stavish (Alt.)
		John Mortenson, Issaquah	Community Transit (1)	X	Nick Roach
		Larissa Grundell, Duvall			Kathryn Rasmussen (Alt.)
		Jim Seitz, Renton	King County Metro (1)	X	Chester Knapp
		Nytasha Walters, Shoreline			Hannah McIntosh (Alt.)
	 	Ingrid Gaub, Auburn (Alt.)	┪		Lisa Shafer (Alt)
		Jeff Hamlin, Snoqualmie (Alt.)	Sound Transit (1)	X	Lisa Wolterink
		Dan Marcinko, North Bend (Alt.)		F	Tyler Benson (Alt.)
		Kimberly Scrivner, Kirkland (Alt.)	\dashv		Kirste Johnson (Alt.)
		Vangie Garcia, Redmond (Alt.)	┪		Monica Overby (Alt.)
Kitsap County (1)	[X]	David Forte	Port of Seattle (1)	X	Geri Poor
- p j \- j		Joe Rutan (Alt.)		\vdash	Robert Giacopetti (Alt.)
Bremerton (1)	X	Shane Weber, Vice Chair	Port of Tacoma (1)	1	Deirdre Wilson
		Gunnar Fridriksson (Alt. 1)			Vacant (Alt.)
		Vicki Grover (Alt. 2)	Port of Everett (1)		Brandon Whitaker
Other Cities/Towns (1)	X	Diane Lenius, Poulsbo			Laura Gurley (Alt.)
		Vacant (Alt.)	Port of Bremerton (1)	X	Arne Bakker
Pierce County (2)	1	Letticia Neal			James Goodman (Alt.)
		Melissa McFadden	PSCAA (1)	+	Kathy Strange
	X	Peter Lewis-Miller (Alt.)		\boxtimes	
		Clint Ritter (Alt.)	Suguamish Tribe (1)	╅	VACANT
Tacoma (2)		Dan Hansen			VACANT (Alt.)
	-	Brennan Kidd	Muckleshoot Tribal Cncl (1)		VACANT
	F	Josh Diekmann (Alt.)	Trackieshoot Hibai Chici (1)		VACANT (Alt.)
		Vacant (Alt.)	Puyallup Tribe (1)		VACANT (AIL.)
Other Cities/Towns (1)		Mark Burlingame, Steilacoom	ayunup IIIDE (1)		VACANT (Alt.)
	X	Jeremy Metzler, Edgewood (Alt.)	NON-VOTING		VACANT - BPAC Chair (Alt.)
Snohomish County (2) Everett (1)		, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,	NON-VOTING		` '
		Doug McCormick, Chair			VACANT - BPAC Vice-Chair (Alt.) VACANT
		Kelly Snyder Steve Dickson (Alt.)			
		` '	\dashv		Mohammad Uddin, Sno Cty-RTOC Co-Chair (Alt.)
	I	Janice Fahning (Alt.)	\dashv		Jennifer Hass, Cmty. Transit-TDM Co-Chair
	X	Tom Hood, City Engineer			Sarah Spicer, City of Seattle-TDM Co-Chair
Other Cities/Towns (2)	IDI	Melinda Adams (Alt.)	\dashv		
	X	Rob English, Edmonds	-		
	127	VACANT	-		
	X	Jim Kelly, Arlington (Alt.)	-		
		Jakeh Roberts, Monroe (Alt.)			Rev. 1/2024