

Transportation Operators Committee Meeting Summary

Date: November 29, 2023 Location: <u>Online Meeting Only</u>: Zoom Remote Meeting

Welcome and Introductions

Gil Cerise congratulated Peter Heffernan and Melinda Adams, who were elected committee Chairperson and Vice-chairperson, respectively, for 2024-2025. PSRC conducted a vote-by-email for these positions between committee meetings.

Peter Heffernan, Chair welcomed everyone at 10:00 a.m. Peter took roll call and confirmed the members and alternates present.

Approval of Meeting Summary

The summary for the October 25, 2023, meeting was approved.

Transportation Policy Board Debrief

Gil provided a brief overview of the November Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting and shared the location of the Transportation work program tracker.

Discussion: Regional Mobility On Demand (MOD) Work Program and Inventory

Jean Kim, PSRC and Gary Simonson, PSRC provided an overview of the regional MOD work program, including a glossary of terms to help distinguish various forms of MOD, and draft measures under consideration for a regional inventory of MOD. Discussion focused on microtransit and the various brands of microtransit being deployed by transit agencies in the region.

For more information, contact Jean Kim at <u>jkim@psrc.org</u> or Gary Simonson at <u>gsimonson@psrc.org</u>

Discussion: Connecting People to Transit

Jean Kim, PSRC provided an update on PSRC progress to-date on the Connecting People to Transit work program. This included an update on case studies that PSRC is conducting in partnership with local jurisdiction and transit agency stakeholders to test PSRC's existing transit access tools and resources. Jean shared some initial impressions, based upon work to date. The Transit Access Working Group will hold its third meeting on December 1, 2023, to review work on case studies to-date and provide further feedback and guidance to staff.

For more information, contact Jean Kim at jkim@psrc.org

Discussion: PSRC Transit Development Plan Review and Transit Integration Report in 2024

Erin Hogan, PSRC, provided an overview of PSRC's 2023 review of transit development plans developed by the six agencies in the region required to create them. Erin shared topic areas that PSRC emphasized, including performance measures and targets, plan consistency, and projects of regional significance. In addition, Gil Cerise, PSRC shared that PSRC is not planning to develop a transit integration report in 2024. PSRC has coordinated with WSDOT Public Transportation Division on other ways for that agency to receive transit integration information for the state requirement.

For more information, contact Erin Hogan at ehogan@psrc.org

Discussion: 2023 TOC Planned Meeting Topics/Look Ahead to 2024

Gil Cerise, PSRC, reviewed meeting topics in 2023 and provided an overview of topics and issues that will be covered in 2024.

For more information, contact Gil Cerise at gcerise@psrc.org

Discussion: Transit Agency Roundtable

During the Roundtable, the committee received updates and announcements from the following attendees:

- Alex Krieg, Sound Transit
- Steffani Lillie, Kitsap Transit
- Peter Heffernan, King County Metro
- Tine Lee, Pierce Transit

Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 12:00 p.m.

*Members and Alternates Present

See attached attendance roster.

*PSRC Staff, Alternates and Guests Present

Don Chartock, WSDOT; Erik Rundell, King County Metro

<u>PSRC</u>

Gil Cerise, Erin Hogan, Sarah Gutschow, Nick Johnson, Alexa Leach, Jean Kim, Gary Simonson

*Attendees were present via remote participation

TOC Attendance Roster (Members and Alternates represented) Date: November 29, 2023 10:00am - 12:00pm					
			Online/Remote Meeting Only		
			Agency/Jurisdiction		Name
			Transit Agencies	T	I
Community Transit (1)		Sophie Luthin			
		Kathryn Rasmussen (Alt.)			
Everett Transit (1)		Melinda Adams			
		Michael Schmieder (Alt.)			
King County Metro (1)	х	Peter Heffernan, Chair			
	_	Erik Rundell (Alt.)			
Kitsap Transit (1)	х	Steffani Lillie			
		Edward Coviello (Alt.)			
Pierce County Ferries (1)		VACANT			
		Nick Lacsina (Alt.)			
Pierce Transit (1)		Andrew Arnes			
	х	Tina Lee (Alt.)			
City of Seattle (1)	х	Jen Malley-Crawford			
		Benjamin Smith (Alt.)			
Sound Transit (1)	х	Alex Krieg			
		Lisa Wolterink (Alt.)			
State					
WSDOT - Washington State Ferries (1)		Jason Rogers			
		John Bernhard (Alt.)			
WSDOT (1)	х	Cordy Crockett			
		Jason Beloso (Alt.)			
		Jill Nordstrom (Alt.)			
Non-Voting Participants					
Regional FTA Caucus (1)	х	Steffani Lillie , Chair (Kitsap Transit)			
		Clint Ritter, Vice Chair (Pierce County Ferries) (Alt.)			
Intercity Transit (1)		Peter Stackpole			
		Jessica Gould (Alt.)			
Special Needs Transportation Committee (SNTC) (1)		Susan Carter, Chair (Hopelink)			
		VACANT			