

Transportation Operators Committee Meeting Summary

Date: October 25 2023

Hybrid Meeting: In-person: Central Meeting Room; 1011 Western Avenue, Suite 500, Seattle

Remote: Zoom Connection

Welcome and Introductions

Peter Heffernan, Chair welcomed everyone at 10:00 a.m. Peter took roll call and confirmed the members and alternates present.

Approval of Meeting Summary

The summary for the September 27, 2023, meeting was approved.

Transportation Policy Board Debrief

Gil provided a brief overview of the October Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting and shared the location of the Transportation work program tracker.

Action: King County Metro Redistribution Request

Sarah Gutschow, PSRC reviewed the King County Metro funding redistribution request which were:

• Redistributing \$6,957,439 in Seattle-Tacoma-Everett Urbanized Areas (STE UZA) FFY 2024 5337 HIFG funds between two projects.

The committee then voted unanimously to approve the redistribution request for recommendation by the Transportation Policy Board at their next meeting.

For more information, contact Sarah Gutschow at Squtschow@psrc.org

Action: 2025-2026 FTA Equity Formula and Earned Share Recommendations

Sarah Gutschow, PSRC, provided an overview of the 2025-2026 FTA Equity Formula and Earned Share funding distributions, along with background information on how the process for awarding FTA funds for the Seattle-Tacoma-Everett UZA has changed. This is the first FTA Equity Formula funding distribution. Sarah and Kelly McGourty facilitated a discussion about projects submitted for the FTA Equity Formula and potential use of the funds for preservation and maintenance activities, and the circumstances under which those activities would be appropriate use for those funds. The TOC had a robust discussion about the proposed projects and recommended the project list to the Transportation Policy Board (TPB). The TOC voted unanimously to forward the list of projects to the TPB.

For more information, contact Sarah Gutschow at Soutschow@psrc.org

Discussion: Regional Safety Plan

Gary Simonson, PSRC, provided an overview of the Regional Safety Plan that PSRC will be developing with funds awarded by the USDOT Safe Streets and Roads for All (SS4A) Grant Program. Gary provided a draft scope of work of the regional plan and responded to TOC member questions.

For more information, contact Gary Simonson at Gsimonson@psrc.org

Discussion: Regional Mobility On Demand (MOD) Work Program and Inventory

Due to other agenda items taking longer than expected, this agenda item was deferred to the next TOC meeting.

Discussion: Transit Agency Roundtable

During the Roundtable, the committee received updates and announcements from the following attendees:

- Alex Krieg, Sound Transit
- Tine Lee, Pierce Transit

Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 12:00 p.m.

*Members and Alternates Present

See attached attendance roster.

*PSRC Staff, Alternates and Guests Present

Benjamin Smith, City of Seattle*; Elsa Brown, City of Seattle*; John Bernhard, WSDOT*; Kathryn Rasmussen, Community Transit*; Lisa Wolterink, Sound Transit*; Maria Koengeter*; Sarah Strand, SDOT*; Tina Lee, Pierce Transit*

PSRC

Gil Cerise, Erin Hogan*, Sarah Gutschow, Nick Johnson, Alexa Leach, Jean Kim, Kelly McGourty*, Charles Patton*, Nancy Buonanno Grennan*, Gary Simonson*

*Attendees were present via remote participation

(Members and Alternates represented) Date: October 25, 2023 10:00am - 12:00pm							
						•	
				Hybrid Meeting - Zoom connection or PSRC Central Meeting Room			
Agency/Jurisdiction		Name	CR = Central Room				
Transit Agencies	-	T					
Community Transit (1)	х	Sophie Luthin					
		Kathryn Rasmussen (Alt.)					
Everett Transit (1)	х	Melinda Adams					
		Michael Schmieder (Alt.)					
King County Metro (1)	х	Peter Heffernan, Chair	CR				
		Erik Rundell (Alt.)					
Kitsap Transit (1)	х	Steffani Lillie					
		Edward Coviello (Alt.)					
Pierce County Ferries (1)		VACANT					
		Nick Lacsina (Alt.)					
Pierce Transit (1)	х	Andrew Arnes					
		Tina Lee (Alt.)					
City of Seattle (1)	х	Jen Malley-Crawford	CR				
		Benjamin Smith (Alt.)					
Sound Transit (1)	х	Alex Krieg	CR				
		Lisa Wolterink (Alt.)					
State							
WSDOT - Washington State Ferries (1)	х	Jason Rogers					
		John Bernhard (Alt.)					
WSDOT (1)	х	Cordy Crockett	CR				
		Jason Beloso (Alt.)					
		Jill Nordstrom (Alt.)					
Non-Voting Participants							
Regional FTA Caucus (1)	х	Steffani Lillie , Chair (Kitsap Transit)					
		Clint Ritter, Vice Chair (Pierce County Ferries) (Alt.)					
Intercity Transit (1)	х	Peter Stackpole	CR				
		Jessica Gould (Alt.)					
Special Needs Transportation Committee (SNTC) (1)		Susan Carter, Chair (Hopelink)					
		VACANT					