

# **Regional FTA Caucus Meeting Summary**

Date: December 14, 2023 from 10:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m. Location: <u>Online Meeting Only</u> - Zoom Remote Meeting

### Welcome and Introductions

Steffani Lillie, Chair, welcomed everyone at 10:30 a.m. and took a roll call and confirmed the members and alternates present.

## Approval of Meeting Summary

The summary for the October 12, 2022 Regional FTA Caucus meeting was approved as presented.

### Discussion: Review of Delayed TrAMS Obligations

Sarah Gutschow, PSRC, provided an overview of projects currently experiencing delays in obligating their regional FTA funds or "flexed" FHWA funds, as shown in the <u>agenda</u> <u>packet</u>. Project sponsors then provided additional information on their delayed projects, including current efforts to advance their projects towards obligation or else return the funds to the region for redistribution.

The Caucus discussed the information provided and decided to wait for updates at the February 8<sup>th</sup> meeting before determining any next steps for the delayed projects. Caucus members also discussed potential strategies for ensuring projects obligate in a timely manner, such as regular meetings with their FTA grant representatives.

For more information, contact Sarah Gutschow at <u>sgutschow@psrc.org</u>.

## **Discussion: TPB FTA Working Group Update**

Kelly McGourty, PSRC, briefed the Caucus on recent discussions of the Transportation Policy Board FTA Working Group. For the third working group meeting on November 9<sup>th</sup>, the group reviewed member proposals for changing the current allocation methodology and discussed whether each proposal would help ensure a more equitable distribution of PSRC's FTA funds. Kelly noted the next meeting would be held later in December.

For more information, contact Kelly McGourty at <u>kmcgourty@psrc.org</u> or Sarah Gutschow at <u>sgutschow@psrc.org</u>.

# **Discussion: FTA Funding and Requirements**

For this item, Caucus members asked questions and shared information on FTA funding and other requirements. These included questions related to:

- Funding eligibility and requirements for real estate property purchases;
- "Buy America" purchasing requirements; and
- U.S. DOT RAISE grant applications.

For more information, contact Sarah Gutschow at <u>squtschow@psrc.org</u>.

### Roundtable / Other Business

During the Roundtable, the committee received updates and announcements from the following attendees:

- Peter Heffernan, King County Metro
- Steffani Lillie, Kitsap Transit
- Dave Morrison, King County Metro
- Benjamin Smith, City of Seattle
- Lisa Wolterink, Sound Transit

For more information, contact Sarah Gutschow at <u>sgutschow@psrc.org</u>.

### Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 12:00 p.m.

### \*Members and Alternates Present

See attached attendance roster for the member or alternate representing each agency at the meeting; additional alternates present are listed below.

### \*Alternates, Interested Parties, and PSRC Staff Present

Joanna Hankamer, City of Seattle; Corine Jackson, Pierce Transit; Dave Morrison, King County Metro; Ashley Ross, Community Transit; Jim Storment, City of Seattle

PSRC: Monica Adkins, Gil Cerise, Sarah Gutschow, Nick Johnson, Kelly McGourty, Miles Stepleton

\*All attendees were present via remote participation

Regional FTA Caucus Attendance Roster (Members and Alternates represented)		
Online/Remote Meeting Only		
Agency/Jurisdiction		Name
Transit Agencies		
Community Transit (1)	х	Kathryn Rasmussen
		Ashley Ross (Alt.)
Everett Transit (1)		Melinda Adams
	х	Amanda Koerber (Alt.)
King County Metro (1)	х	Peter Heffernan
		David Morrison (Alt.)
Kitsap Transit (1)	х	Steffani Lillie, Chair
		Jeff Davidson (Alt.)
Pierce County Ferries (1)	х	Clint Ritter, Vice Chair
		Peter Lewis-Miller (Alt.)
Pierce Transit (1)	х	Barb Hunter
		Corine Jackson (Alt.)
		Tina Lee (Alt.)
Seattle DOT (1)	х	Benjamin Smith
		Vacant (Alt.)
Sound Transit (1)	х	Lisa Wolterink
		Kirste Johnson (Alt.)
		Monica Overby (Alt.)
State		
WSDOT - Washington State Ferries (1)		John Bernhard
		Rick Singer (Alt. 1)
		Krishan Aggarwal (Alt. 2)
	x	Leslie Rifkin (Alt. 3)
Non-Voting Participants		
Intercity Transit		Eric Phillips
		Jessica Gould
Skagit Transit		Marcy Smith